May 8, 2013

NEWMAC Announces Spring Academic All-Conference Awards

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – A league-leading 61 athletes represented MIT on the 2013 New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Spring Academic All-Conference Team. The Engineers finished the year with a conference-high 146 selections, followed by WPI with 101.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale, achieved second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, WPI, and MIT.

Spring sports sponsored by the NEWMAC are: baseball, women’s lacrosse, women’s rowing, softball, men’s tennis, and men’s and women’s track and field.

WPI secured the second-highest number of honorees with 53, followed by Springfield (35), and Wellesley (22). The following is a list of MIT’s NEWMAC Academic All-Conference recipients:

Hayden Cornwell
Patrick Dayton
Andrew Jeanguenat
Kiel Jindra
Max Ockner
Ricardo Perez
Jon Rea
Parker Tew
Henry Zhu

Women's Lacrosse
Erica Du
Laura Lu
Molly McShane
Lyndsy Muri
Meghan Wright

Leah Alpert
Anna Christensen
Karly McLaughlin

Men’s Tennis
Troy Astorino
Vlad Firoiu
Tymor Hamamasy
Brian Oldfield
Jeffrey Sperling
Edwin Zhang

Men's Track and Field
Nick Diamantoni
Matthew Falk
Jared Forman
Kristoffer Fray
Yida Gao
Kyle Hannon
Dominique Hoskin
Matthew Jordan
Jacob Jurewicz
Jay McKenna
Jordan Mizerak
Samuel Parker
Harry Rein
Daniel Ronde
Benjamin Schreck
Tyler Singer-Clark
John Thomas
Cyrus Vafadari

Women’s Track and Field
Kaitlin Allen
Kali Benavides
Marie Burkland
Joanna Chen
Margaret Coad
Martina de Geus
Marissa Engle
Kayla Harris
Cindy Huang
Shivani Kaushal
Abigail Klein
Jaclyn Konopka
Lauren Kuntz
Dacie Manion
Elaine McVay
Melissa Showers
Veronica Szklarzewski
Alexandra Taylor
Louise van den Heuvel
Ashley Wheeler