Brian Bubna
Brian Bubna
Title: Assistant Varsity Equipment Specialist
Phone: 617-253-9613
Year: 6th at MIT

Brian Bubna enters his sixth season on the MIT football coaching staff in 2016-17. He is the defensive coordinator for the Engineers as well serving as the program’s recruiting coordinator.

Bubna started at MIT in 2010 as the linebackers coach and then took over as the defensive coordinator in 2012. He has served as the recruiting coordinator for the Engineers since joining the program.

Before coming to MIT, Bubna spent one season at the Maine Maritime Academy where he coached the defensive line for a squad that won the 2009 NEFC championship and played in the NCAA Tournament. Bubna stared coaching football as a volunteer with the Charlestown Townies Amateur team.

Bubna graduated from Hobart College with a BA in media and society. He lettered four times for the Statesmen and helped the team to a pair of NCAA Playoff appearances in 2000 and 2002. Bubna, who also works on the MIT Varsity Equipment Staff, is an AEMA certified equipment manager and is currently enrolled in the Northeastern University masters program in sports leadership.