Rifle Has Three Named To MAC All-Academic Team

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Three members of the MIT rifle team were honored recently when the Mid Atlantic Rifle Conference announced its annual post season awards. Seniors Jennifer de Bruijn (Harare, Zimbabwe) and Nigel Kojimoto (Honolulu, Hawaii) along with junior Elizabeth Phillips (Anchorage, Alaska) were all named to the All-Academic team. It is the fourth consecutive year that MIT has placed at least three student-athletes on the All-Academic team.

It was the third straight year that Kojimoto has earned a spot on the team as he became the first Engineer to become a three-time All-Academic honoree. It was the second time on the squad for Phillips and the first for de Bruijn. As a team, MIT was tied with VMI for second in the conference in All-Academic selections.

The award is given to the top twenty student-athletes in the conference, who are not academic freshman, that attain the highest combined overall grade point average multiplied by a multiplier and added to the highest final smallbore or air rifle average.