No. 18 Coed Sailing Places 11th at Boston Dinghy Cup

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Competing at the Boston Dinghy Cup, college sailing's oldest trophy race, the nationally-ranked No. 18 MIT coed team finished 11th out of 18 squads. The Engineers also appeared in the BU Bridge Invitational where they ranked 13th in a field of 18 teams.

Junior skipper Andrew Sommer (Duxbury, Mass.) and senior crew Steph Tong (Hong Kong) captured seventh place in the A Division of the Boston Dinghy Cup. The duo cracked the top 10 on 10 occasions and registered six top-five finishes, including a victory in the sixth round, a runner-up outing in the fourth race, and a pair of fourth-place rankings. In the B Division, senior Eamon Glackin (Huntington, N.Y.) and junior Kelden Pehr (Seabrook, Texas) secured ninth place behind the strength of 13 top-10 finishes in 18 rounds of action. The pair won the 11th rotation, claimed second in the fifth and 13th races, and was third in the 12th round. Senior Katii Gullick (Portland, Maine) and sophomore Iris Xu (Madison, Wis.) collaborated for a ninth-place performance in the C Division that featured 11 appearances in the top 10 and six placements in the top five. Highlights included winning the 13th race, finishing second in the eighth round, and placing third in the second and 12th rotations.

At the BU Bridge Invitational, senior Tevis Nichols (Skylonder, Calif.) and sophomore Angelique Nehmzow (Hong Kong) ranked 11th in the A Division courtesy of nine top-10 finishes in 12 rounds. The duo was fifth in the seventh and 10th races and sixth in the first, third, and sixth rotations. In the B Division, freshmen Zack Drach (Wilmington, N.C.) and Samantha Albright (Madison, Conn.) along with junior Eben Freeman (Zurich, Switzerland) ranked 14th after claiming fifth place in the seventh round, sixth in the third race, and ninth in the fourth rotation.

Following its weeklong spring training trip, MIT returns to New England this weekend for the Women's Brad Dellenbaugh Trophy, Ferrarone Team Racing Intersectional, and the BU Trophy.