Women's Sailing Captures Ninth at Dellenbaugh Trophy

Juniors Hanna Vincent and Iris Xu

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – In its only event of the weekend, the MIT women's sailing team placed ninth out of 18 teams at the Brad Dellenbaugh Trophy hosted by Brown University. Yale University took top honors, followed by Navy, and Boston College.

The B Division unit comprised of juniors Hanna Vincent (Santa Barbara, Calif.) and Iris Xu (Madison, Wis.) along with freshman Rosalind Lesh (Everson, Wash.) ranked fifth on the strength of eight top-10 finishes in 10 rounds of competition. Highlights for the trio included a runner-up performance in the last race and fourth-place spots in the third and ninth rotations. In the A Division, sophomore Chloe Lepert (Belmont, Calif.), senior Taylor Burfield (Naples, Fla.), and junior Keren Gu (Bowie, Md.) secured 13th place as they entered the top-10 on five occasions. The boat was third in the second race, sixth in the fourth round, seventh in the sixth rotation, and ninth in the third and seventh outings.

This weekend, MIT will host the Lynne Marchiando Trophy on Saturday, April 6 in addition to competing in the Women's President's Trophy, the Central Series Three, and the Friis Team Race.