MIT Sailing Honored With Ten ICSA Scholar-Athlete Accolades

MIT Sailing Honored With Ten ICSA Scholar-Athlete Accolades

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – A group of ten sailors from the MIT sailing team were honored for their excellence in competition and academics by the Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) when the organization announced its 2015-16 All-Academic Sailing Team. A total of 146 student-athletes from 44 institutions were selected for the honor this year.

Seniors Christopher Ford (Millbrae, Calif.), Scarlett Koller (Geneva, Switzerland), David Larson (San Diego, Calif.), Robyn Lesh (Everson, Wash.), Joe Paggi (Toms River, N.J.) and Elizabeth Zhang (Lexington, Mass.) were joined by juniors Jordan Ladd (St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands), Jorlyn Le Garrec (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Megan McKnelly (Camarillo, Calif.) and Paige Omura (Honolulu, Hawaii) all received nods to the ICSA's All-Academic team this year.

In order to be eligible for the All-Academic Sailing Team, student-athletes must be a junior or senior, have at least a 3.30 (4.0 scale) cumulative GPA and be a starter or key reserve in at least seven university sponsored regattas. A seven person committee comprised of representatives from conferences in the ICSA selected the nominated sailors for the honor.

The 2015-16 campaign saw the MIT women's sailing team produce a ninth place finish at the ICSA National Championship as well as the coed squad achieve a top national ranking of ninth and sixth in the highly competitive New England Conference by the end of the year. The coed squad registered a huge victory over defending national champion, Yale University, with its first place finish at the Hoyt Trophy back in October, while the team squad placed third of 16 at the Lynne Marchiando Team Race in April.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.