MIT Tennis Teams Earns Academic Honors From ITA

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – MIT's men's and women's tennis teams both earned All-Academic Team honors the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced. It marks the third straight year that MIT was the only New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) school to have both men's and women's tennis earn the distinction.

For the men's team it was the fourth consecutive year that it has earned ITA All-Academic honors. Leading all NEWMAC schools, the Engineers had seven individuals named ITA Scholar Athletes, an award that recognizes letterwinners who have achieved a 3.5 GPA for the academic year. Senior Max Nelson (Medicac Lake, Wash.) earned his third ITA Scholar Athlete honor, the second player in program history to be named three times. Seniors Biafra Ahanonu (Tucson, Ariz.) and Neel Patel (Fort Pierce, Fla.); juniors Andrew Cooper (Albuquerque, N.M.), Brian Oldfield (St. Thomas, Virgin Islands), and Michael Walsh (Omaha, Neb.) all earned their second ITA award, while sophomore Vlad Firoiu (Westford, Mass.) was named for the first time.

On the women's side it was the ninth time that the Engineers have received the ITA's All-Academic Team award. MIT led all NEWMAC schools with nine ITA Scholar Athlete award recipients. Sonya Makhni '11 (Fort Pierce, Fla.) become the fourth women's tennis player at MIT to be recognized as a four-time ITA Scholar Athlete to lead the group. Jenny Dohlman '11 (Wellesley, Mass.) and senior Hillary Jenny (Green Bay, Wis.) each achieved the honor for the third time. Earning the honor for the second time in their careers were Melissa Diskin '11 (Newport News, Va.), and juniors Bianca Dumitrascu (Râmnicu Vâlcea, Romania) and Caitlin Pomeroy (Cape Elizabeth, Maine). First time recipients were junior Candace Wu (Yorba Linda, Calif.) and sophomores Julia Hsu (Knoxville, Tenn.), and Katie O'Neal (New York, N.Y.).