Men's Tennis Earns Nine NEWMAC Honors

May 3, 2006

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its men's tennis post-season awards on Tuesday. MIT, the conference regular season and tournament champion, led the way with nine selections, including seven First-Team plaudits. Wheaton College collected eight honors while Clark University and the U.S. Coast Guard Academy each received one.

Evan Tindell was named the league's first Athlete of the Year and became a four-time First-Team All-Conference honoree in the No. 1 singles position. He closed his career with a 16-0 record in the conference, winning 15 matches in straight sets. Thomas Dohlman, Eric Beren, Mark Egan, and Peden Nichols were placed on the First Team in the next four slots. Tindell and Dohlman received their second consecutive First Team No. 1 doubles pick while Beren and Egan moved up to the First Team in the No. 2 position following last year's Second-Team selection. Head Coach Dave Hagymas capped his inaugural season with the Engineers by collecting Coach of the Year honors.