Tech Tennis Tabbed for ITA Honors

Aug. 21, 2008

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – MIT was the only NEWMAC institution to receive All-Academic Team accolades for both its men’s and women’s programs as announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). The women’s squad collected its sixth award while the men received their first nod.

Individually, Yi Wang and Karina Pikhart picked up their third Scholar-Athlete honor as Leslie Hansen and Emily Onufer were repeat selections. The accolade was Hansen’s second from the ITA this past season as she was named to its All-America Team following a 1-1 performance at the NCAA Singles Championship. Sheena Bhalla and Sonya Makhni were first-time honorees for the Engineers.

Representing MIT on the men’s side was Ryan Castonia, Jonathan Farm, David Iba, Vinith Misra, Peden Nichols, Michael Price, and Ken Van Tilburg.