No. 5 Men's Cross Country Claims 19th Straight NEWMAC Title

No. 5 Men's Cross Country Claims 19th Straight NEWMAC Title


- Location: Smith College - Northampton, Mass.

- The Lead: Led by an individual victory by graduate student Matthew Deyo (Syracuse, N.Y.), the No. 5 ranked MIT men's cross country team won its 19th straight New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship on Saturday afternoon at Smith College. Totaling 19 points in the win, the Engineers remain the only school to ever capture the men's crown over the 19-year history of the event.


- Deyo crossed in 25:26 to win the event with an average mile time of 5:07, while sophomore Dennis Maloney (New Albany, Ohio) was the runner-up just three seconds back at 25:29. Deyo was named as the league's Runner of the Year, while freshman Josh Derrick (Winnetka, Ill.) was the Rookie of the Year as he finished third overall in a time of 25:32.

- Junior Alex Knoedler (Canon City, Colo.) was sixth overall in 26:05, followed by senior Rory Beyer (San Mateo, Calif.) in seventh in a time of 26:07 and a pace of 5:16 per mile.

- The two displacers for MIT were junior Ben Freed (Frederick, Md.) and sophomore Daniel Weiss (Naperville, Ill.) as they finished eighth and ninth overall, respectively. Freed finished in a time of 26:11, while Weiss was close behind at 26:15.

- MIT had 11 of the top 20 finishers and 13 of the top 25 as nine Engineers were named to the NEWMAC All-Conference Team. In addition to the top seven MIT runners, sophomore Aidan Gilson (Florence, Mass.) and junior Nicholas Waltman (Lexington, Ky.) both earned NEWMAC All-Conference accolades for placing among the top 14 on Saturday.


- MIT is back in action on Saturday, November 12th as the Engineers travel to Westfield State for the NCAA Regional at Stanley Park. The men's race is set to begin at 12 p.m.


- For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.