MIT Women's Crew Produces Twelve National Scholar Athletes

The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced its 2011 Scholar Athletes, and MIT placed 12 women on the list, the second-most for any Division I rowing program. The University of Wisconsin had the most scholar athletes with 13, and the University at Buffalo had the third-highest number at 11. Ithaca College, a Division III program, tied MIT for second place across all divisions, also having 12 scholar athletes on the list.

To be designated as a CRCA Scholar Athlete an individual must meet all of the following requirements: the student-athlete has met all eligibility rules as defined by her institution; the student-athlete was in her 2nd, 3rd, or 4th year of eligibility; the student-athlete rowed in her institution's NCAA or IRA eligible boat(s) for a minimum of 75% of the current spring races or racing in a regional conference event; and the student-athlete has had a 3.5 cumulative GPA or higher (on a 4-point scale) for her career (through the fall semester/quarter for the current competition year).

The Engineers earning this distinction were: Hilda Buss, Rachel Clary, Katie Everett, Rebecca Heywood, Tess Saxton-Fox, Allison Simi, and Monique Squiers from the openweight squad; as well as Lauren Ayers, Kathleen Inman, Man-Yan Lam, Sabine Schneider, and Elizabeth Wei from the lightweight squad.


The full list of CRCA Scholar Athletes can be found here: