MIT Field Hockey Places Seven on NFHCA Academic Squad

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) announced the selections for the National Academic squad on Thursday and MIT picked up seven individual honorees, while the entire team was also recognized for its academic success. As a team, the Engineers finished with a cumulative grade point average of 3.36, to earn the National Academic Team Award for the eighth consecutive season.

Seniors Priscilla Army, Ekavali Mishra and Nirupama Yechoor closed their careers with the accolades, which were the third such honors for Army and Mishra and second straight for Yechoor. Keri Dixon, Jessica Oleinik, Danielle Smith and Alex Wright were MIT’s other selections, all of whom were also named to the squad in 2009.

Tech was one of seven New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) teams to be honored by the NFHCA, as Springfield College recorded the highest team GPA in all of Division III.