MIT Relays Highlight Day No. 2 of the NCAA Championships

MIT Relays Highlight Day No. 2 of the NCAA Championships

SHENANDOAH, Texas – MIT senior Emmie Ryan (Avon, Ind.), junior Sarah Osmulski (Rumson, N.J.), sophomore Veronika Jedryka (Arlington Heights, Ill.) and freshman Jessica Chen (Rockville, Md.) capped an exciting second day of the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships at the Conroe ISD Natatorium by collaborating for a seventh place performance in the 400 Yard Medley Relay. Tech concluded the second day of competition in eighth place with a team score of 72 points.

Tech's 400 Yard Medley Relay unit logged a time of 3:48.79 and finished seventh overall in the Finals. The time was roughly one second faster than their preliminary time of 3:49.59, and also established a new program record in the event. All four swimmer collected All-America honors for finishing in the top-eight. They also established a New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) record too.

Osmulski, Jedryka, junior Lena Yang (East Stroudsburg, Pa.) and freshman Amanda Wu (Cedar Park, Texas) collaborated for a fifth place performance in the 200 Yard Freestyle Relay, clocking a time of 1:33.36. The quartet placed fifth in the event and established a new program and NEWMAC record. All four swimmers earned All-America honors.

MIT returns to the pool tomorrow for the third day of competition and will compete in the 200 Yard Butterfly, 100 Yard Backstroke, 100 Yard Breaststroke and 800 Free Relay. The preliminaries begin at 11:00 a.m. eastern, 10:00 central, while the finals are slated for 7:00 p.m. eastern, 6:00 p.m. central time.