MIT Tennis Teams Honored by ITA for Academic Success

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Academic success continued in 2011-12 for the MIT men's and women's tennis teams, as both earned All-Academic Team honors the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) has announced. It marks the fourth straight year that MIT was the only New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) school to have both men's and women's tennis earn the distinction.

For the men's team it was the fifth consecutive year that it has earned ITA All-Academic honors. Leading all NEWMAC schools, the Engineers had nine individuals named ITA Scholar Athletes, an award that recognizes letterwinners who have achieved a 3.5 GPA for the academic year. Max Nelson '12 (Medicac Lake, Wash.) earned his third ITA Scholar Athlete honor, along with Biafra Ahanonu '12 (Tucson, Ariz.), Neel Patel '12 (Fort Pierce, Fla.) and senior Michael Walsh (Omaha, Neb.). Named for the second time were seniors Tymor Hamamasy (New York, N.Y.), Larry Pang (Torrance, Calif.) and Brian Oldfield (St. Thomas, Virgin Islands), junior Edwin Zhang (Falls Church, Va.) and sophomore Jeffrey Sperling (Los Angeles, Calif.).

On the women's side it was the tenth time that the Engineers have received the ITA's All-Academic Team award. MIT was second among NEWMAC schools with seven ITA Scholar Athlete award recipients. Hillary Jenny '12 (Green Bay, Wis.) was named to the honor for the fourth time, the fifth women's tennis player at MIT with four ITA Scholar Athlete awards. Anastasia Vishnevetsky '12 (Orange, Conn.) and senior Caitlin Pomeroy (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) were selected for the third time. Junior Julia Hsu (Knoxville, Tenn.) was named for a second time, while sophomores Madeline Aby (Lake Forest, Ill.), Juana Becerra (Bucaramanga, Colombia) and Michelle Dutt (Gurnee, Ill.) were all named for the first time.