Eight MIT Women’s Tennis Players Earn All-NEWMAC Honors

Eight MIT Women’s Tennis Players Earn All-NEWMAC Honors
Clockwise from top left: senior Lauren Quisenberry, sophomore Victoria Tam, freshman Krystal Lai and freshman Elysa Kohrs

BOSTON, Mass. – After winning its second straight New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship on Sunday, the MIT women's tennis team was well represented on the 2013 all-conference teams released by the league today. The Engineers swept all but one of the first team awards while also seeing freshman Elysa Kohrs (Half Moon Bay, Calif.) getting the Rookie of the Year award. 

Kohrs is the second consecutive MIT player, and the third in the past four years, to win Rookie of the Year honors. During the fall season she compiled a 13-2 record in singles play, including a perfect 6-0 mark in conference action. In doubles play she had a 14-3 record, putting together another perfect 6-0 mark in the conference with sophomore Victoria Tam (Rolling Hills Estates, Calif.).

Senior Lauren Quisenberry (Corpus Christi, Texas), Tam and freshmen Krystal Lai (Irvine, Calif.) and Kohrs all earned a pair of all-conference honors. Quisenberry was the second team pick at No. 1 singles and teamed with senior Julia Hsu (Knoxville, Tenn.) to earn first team No. 1 doubles honors. Kohrs was the first team No. 2 singles selection and Tam was the first team No. 3 singles pick, with the pair also taking first team No. 2 doubles honors. Lai was the first team No. 4 singles award winner and paired with junior Michelle Dutt (Gurnee, Ill.) as the first team No. 3 doubles pick.

Junior Vynnie Kong (Cupertino, Calif.) and freshman Wendi Kong (Cupertino, Calif.) also were first team all-conference selections for MIT. Vynnie earned her honor at No. 6 singles while Wendi was the No. 5 singles selection.