MIT Sweeps Coaching Honors As NEWMAC Announces Postseason Awards

May 2, 2007

BABSON PARK, Mass. -- The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its postseason awards for track and field on Tuesday, MIT, which became the first team in the history of the conference to sweep the men's and women's championship in the same year, claimed four of the eight honors.

On the women's side, MIT head coach Fletcher Brooks was named NEWMAC Coach of the Year, while freshman standout Amy Magnuson was named NEWMAC Rookie of the Year after winning the 100-meter high hurdles and placing second in the triple jump at the conference meet.

Wheaton senior Jennifer Harlow capped off her magnificent career with her third straight NEWMAC Female Athlete of the Year award after winning the league title in the high jump and placing second in both the 100m high hurdles and the long jump. Mount Holyoke rounded out the list of women's winners by claiming the inaugural NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award.

Highlighting the men's winners were MIT head coach Halston Taylor, who was named NEWMAC Coach of the Year, and freshman Stephen Morton, who earned NEWMAC Male Athlete of the Year honors after winning the league title in the 200-meter dash, the long jump, and the triple jump while placing second in the 100m dash.

Taylor's postseason nod was his 16th NEWMAC coaching honor, including his seventh Coach of the Year award in track. Morton became just the second rookie to win the league's top honor in track and field, joining Wheaton's Lance Wagner, who secured the award in 2001.

Springfield freshman Steve Headley was named men's Rookie of the Year after claiming the NEWMAC title in the 100m and coming in second in the 200m. The United States Coast Guard Academy capped off this year's list of honorees by earning the first-ever NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award.