Post-Season Honors Pour In for Women's Volleyball

Nov. 8, 2006

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC), the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA), and the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced their post-season women's volleyball accolades this week. First-time honorees Alex May, Amanda Morris, Frances Rogoz, Carrie Buchanan, and head coach Paul Dill represented MIT in each organization.

May received Rookie of the Year plaudits in the NEWMAC and was named the AVCA New England Rookie of the Year. In addition, she was a NEWMAC All-Conference Second-Team pick and was chosen to the AVCA All-New England Team. Morris was selected to the NEWMAC All-Conference First Team, the AVCA All-New England Team, and the CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District Second Team for the first time in her career. Buchanan earned AVCA All-New England and CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District Third-Team accolades. Rogoz was named to the NEWMAC All-Conference Second Team and was an AVCA All-New England Honorable Mention.

Dill collected his first Tachikara/AVCA Division III New England Region Coach of the Year award after leading MIT to a 31-5 record as it heads into its second consecutive NCAA Tournament. Despite losing three starters to graduation, he built on a 29-9 2005 season to direct the Engineers to a second-place finish in the NEWMAC. Ranked in the top three in all three NCAA New England Regional Rankings, MIT has also received votes on four CSTV/AVCA Division III Top 25 Coaches Polls. Entering his 11th season, Dill was ranked among the top 10 active Division III coaches in career win percentage, and currently has an MIT-best career record of 295-100. The Engineers have reached the 20-plus win mark in all 11 seasons with Dill at the helm, and recorded their second 30-plus win season during his tenure.