Six MIT Women's Cross Country Runners Earn All-Academic Honors

NEW ORLEANS, La. Six members of the MIT women's cross country team were honored with All-Academic accolades from the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) on Friday afternoon. Graduate Brooke Johnson (Shoreham, N.Y.), seniors Louise van den Heuvel (Nashua, N.H.), Kaitlin Allen (Bedford, N.H.) and Alexandra Taylor (Harbor Springs, Mich.), and juniors Elaine McVay (San Ramon, Calif.) and Kali Benavides (Miami, Fla.) were among the 308 women who were recognized.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 or greater and placed in the top 25 percent at the NCAA Regional Championships. With its six All-Academic selections, Tech was one of the best-represented programs out of the 129 institutions that were included on the list.

At the New England Division III Regional Championships that took place at the University of Southern Maine back in November, the Engineers finished in third place out of 53 teams. McVay led the way for MIT with her third place finish and was followed by Benavides in 21st, van den Heuvel in 26th, Allen in 34th, and Johnson and Taylor in 43rd and 51st place respectively.