Track and Field Earns USTFCCCA All-Academic Team and Individual Honors

Photo by
Photo by

New Orleans, La. (July 31) -- Twenty-nine members of the MIT men's and women's track and field teams have been honored on the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Academic Teams. The MIT men's team ranks third in the country with 14 honorees, while the women's team is tied for sixth nationally with 15 selections.

The men's team is fifth overall with a 3.59 cumulative GPA (on a 4.0 scale) to earn All-Academic Team honors, while the women's team also earned All-Academic Team accolades after ranking sixth with a team GPA of 3.70 (on a 4.0 scale).

On the track in 2018-19, the men's team captured the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) title and the New England Division III Indoor and Outdoor Championships while placing seventh at the NCAA Indoor National Championship and a program-best second at the NCAA Outdoor National Championship.

On the women's side, the Engineers won the program's 11th straight NEWMAC Championship while finishing second at the New England Division III Indoor and Outdoor Championships and placing 11th at the NCAA Indoor National Championship.

To qualify for USTFCCCA All-Academic honors, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.30 and must have met at least one of the following athletic standards:

  • Competed in an NCAA Indoor or Outdoor Championship
  • Finished the regular season ranked in the national top-50 in an individual event or ranked in the national top-35 in a relay event on the official NCAA Descending Order List.

2018-19 MIT Men's Honorees
Liam Ackerman
Simon Alford
Scott Cameron
Jon Fakkema
Aidan Gilson
Caleb Harris
Matthew Kearney
Gabriel Madonna
Andrew Mah
Ellery Rajagopal
Josh Rosenkranz
Yorai Shaoul
Kent Slaney
Benton Wilson

2018-19 MIT Women's Honorees
Jacqueline Ahrens
Elena Andree
Katie Collins
Kristen Frombach
Sarah Ishamuddin
Lucy Lee
Anais Marenco
Marissa McPhillips
Jenna Melanson
Margaret Redfield
Liana Reilly
Kari Stromhaug
Margaret Trautner
Bailey Tregoning
Elizabeth Weeks

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.