Men's Tennis Earns ITA All-Academic Team Award; Five Engineers Named ITA Scholar-Athletes

Michael Zhao lines up to serve ball during a match.

Tempe, Ariz. (July 22) - For the 12th straight season, the MIT men's tennis team has been recognized for its academic success by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's (ITA) All-Academic Team award. In addition, five student-athletes from the program received ITA Scholar-Athlete honors in 2019.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a student-athlete must be a varsity letterwinner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters. The team must reach a cumulative GPA of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) to be considered for the ITA All-Academic Team award. 

This year's ITA Scholar-Athletes from the men's tennis team include senior Alex Cauneac (Severna Park, Md.), first-year Arman Dave (Southlake, Texas), senior Sean Ko (Danville, Calif.), senior Henry La Soya (Los Angeles, Calif.) and sophomore Michael Zhao (Princeton Junction, N.J.).

MIT was joined by Babson College and Springfield College as the three members from the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) to be honored with the ITA All-Academic award this year. The Engineers also accounted for four of the ten student-athletes from the NEWMAC to be named as ITA Scholar-Athletes as Babson had three and Springfield had two.

In 2019, 14th-year head coach Dave Hagymas led the Engineers to the program's 21st straight NEWMAC Championship and to the NCAA Tournament for the 24th time in program history. MIT topped Wheaton and Babson in the conference tournament before sweeping Stevenson University in the second round of the NCAA Tournament. The Engineers, who finished the year at 14-6 overall and ranked 31st by the ITA nationally, advanced to the regional final, but ultimately fell to No. 6 Middlebury College.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.