Engineers Wrap Up Fall Season at NEWITT's as Rickeman Receives the Christine Davis Sportsmanship Award

Engineers Wrap Up Fall Season at NEWITT's as Rickeman Receives the Christine Davis Sportsmanship Award


- Location: Smith College and Mount Holyoke

- The Lead: At the final match of the fall season, the No. 9 ranked MIT women's tennis team captured the consolation championships of the A and B draws at the 2019 NEWITT Tournament. In addition, junior Libby Rickeman (Wayzata, Minn.) received the Christine Davis Sportsmanship Award.


- In the A draw, the MIT teams of Pamela Duke (San Jose, Calif.)/Viktoriya Tabunshchyk (Burlington, Canada) and Seraphin Castelino (Superior, Colo.)/Yuka Perera (Santa Barbara, Calif.) advanced into the consolation championship. In the final, it was Duke and Tabunshchyk that came up with the win, defeating their teammates by a 3-0 final.

- For Duke and Tabunshchyk, they moved into the consolation final with a 2-1 loss in the first round, followed by 3-0 and 2-1 victories. Castelino and Perera also dropped a 2-1 final in the first round before two 3-0 wins moved the pair into the final.

- Rickeman and first-year Sarah Pertsemlidis (Coppell, Texas) defeated Carolina Merz and Ipek Akgul of Babson in a 3-0 margin. Their tournament came to an end in the second round though as the No. 4 seeded duo fell to Camille Smukler and Anya Ivenitsky of Amherst in a 2-1 final. The Mammoths swept the singles matches, while Rickeman and Pertsemlidis took the doubles match by a score of 8-7.


- In the B draw, senior Lara Rakocevic (Portland, Ore.) and sophomore Ashley Teng (Tustin, Calif.) advanced to the second round with a 3-0 win over Anya Gerasimova and Catherine Peabody of Mount Holyoke. The No. 3 seeded pair fell in the second round though in a 2-1 final with Teng earning the point with a 6-3, 7-5 singles victory.

- The MIT pair of first-year Sara Fernandez (South Miami, Fla.) and junior Vanessa Kitova (Beverly, Mass.) fell to Tufts by a 3-0 margin in the first round. That was the last point the duo would drop though as Fernandez and Kitova picked up three straight 3-0 wins, including a shutout of Amarie Settwongse and Kara Stankewitz from Nichols in the consolation championship match.


- Rickeman joins 2016 honoree Dora Tzeng as the two MIT student-athletes to receive this honor. Christine Davis was the head coach of Smith College tennis from 1979-2018. The award is given to a junior or senior who exemplifies the values that Coach Davis lives and teaches every day, which are to compete with grace, passion and commitment.


- This concludes the fall season for the Engineers as MIT will return to action on Saturday, February 15th as the Engineers host No. 10 ranked Brandeis University.


For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.